Board of Directors & Staff

The Resort Tax is governed by a five member, elected Board of Directors. Board members live within the boundaries of the District and serve a four-year term once elected in a May general election in even-numbered years. Registered voters who live within the boundaries of the Big Sky Resort Area District may vote in the election.

The day-to-day administration of the District is overseen by the Administrative Officer. The Operations Officer ensures that businesses and lodging establishments in the District pay resort taxes.

See below for more information about the current Board of Directors and staff as well as the history of the District.

Board of Directors

KEVIN GERMAIN | Chairperson | Elected 2015 First Term

Kevin has worked in planning and development in Big Sky for more than 12 years, the majority of the time for Moonlight Basin, and most recently for Lone Mountain Land Company. His family became full-time Big Sky residents in 2014 when they moved from Ennis, MT. He has three children that are students in the Big Sky School District. Kevin is an avid outdoorsman who loves skiing, hunting, fly fishing, trail running and mountain biking.

STEVE JOHNSON | Vice Chair | Elected 2018 First Term

Steve and his family started visiting Big Sky in the early 1990’s, and enjoyed a vacation property here for several years. He retired full time to Big Sky in 2001, following a career with Accenture. After settling in and building a home, he became actively engaged in the community, serving as a volunteer with Big Sky Fire, Big Sky Search and Rescue, and the Big Sky Volunteer Ski Patrol. He was also very active with BSCO as a trails volunteer and board member. Steve has stepped back somewhat from these roles, but remains involved as a member of the Gallatin Canyon/Big Sky Zoning Advisory Committee, and a trustee of the Big Sky Trails, Recreation and Parks District. Over the past four years he has been involved with collaborative efforts focused on the future of Custer Gallatin National Forest lands, and the Hyalite Porcupine Buffalo Horn Wilderness Study Area. He is an avid fly fisherman, and has volunteered with Warriors and Quiet Waters in Bozeman for many years as a fly tying instructor. Steve and his wife Jeanne have four children and six grandchildren, all living in the west.

SARAH BLECHTATreasurer | Elected 2018 First Term

Sarah moved to Big Sky as an elementary school child in 1991 and spent her childhood calling Big Sky home. After earning her B.A. from the College of St. Benedict in Minnesota in 2007 she returned to Big Sky to begin her career and her family. Sarah worked in the hospitality and property management industry with Big Sky Resort and is now the Director of Property Owners Associations for Yellowstone Club. Sarah and her family enjoy spending time at the lake, biking to town center activities, and hitting the slopes. She looks forward to helping continue to shape Big Sky as a sustainable community for all who make it home and the visitors who seek it out.

BUZ DAVIS | Secretary | Appointed 2018 First Term

Buz Davis is the President and CEO of Davis & Associates, a consulting firm specializing in strategic business alliances, executive coaching, and board training for corporations and nonprofits. Before founding Davis & Associates, Buz was the CEO and President of SYNERNET, Inc. a 21-hospital alliance in Maine. He ran that alliance for twelve years. Prior to SYNERNET, Buz worked in healthcare consulting, hospital management and clinical pharmacy. After first visiting Big Sky more than two decades ago, Davis became a part-time resident in 2012. He and his wife Margaret joined the community full-time in 2015. He is an avid skier, hiker, kayaker and photographer.

MIKE SCHOLZ | Director | Elected 2015 Second Term

Since taking over Buck’s T4 café from is parents in 1972, Mike Scholz has been inextricably involved in the development of the Big Sky community. Over the past 40 years his resume has grown quite large. He was the first president of the Chamber of Commerce, chair of Big Sky Lodging Association, Montana Tourism Person of the Year in 2007, and has served on various boards such as the Big Sky Fire District, Big Sky Architectural Community, among others.

Former Board Members Elected by the community beginning 1998:

  • Jamey Kabisch, 2011-2018
  • Ginna Hermann, 2011-2018
  • Heather Budd, 2013-2018
  • Jeff Strickler, 2011-2015
  • Les Loble, 2005-2013
  • Al Malinowski, 2004-2011
  • Lance Child, 2004-2011
  • Loren Bough, 2007-2011
  • Renae Schumacher, 2001-2009
  • Carol Collins, 1998-2007
  • Jim Muscat, 2001-2005
  • Walter Ainsworth, 1999-2003
  • Heidi Peacock, 2001-2003
  • Bob Stober, 1998-2001
  • Becky Pape, 1998-2001
  • Richard Wambsgans, 1998-2001
  • Michael Richards, 1998-1999

Former Board of Advisors Appointed by the County Commissions in 1992:

  • Michael Richards
  • Carol Collins
  • Richard Wambsgans
  • Becky Pape
  • Taylor Middleton
  • Dave Traylor
  • Lindy Adelmann
  • Bob Biggerstaff


Daniel Bierschwale, District Manager

With over a decade of partnership experience, Daniel has fostered public, private, and nonprofit collaborations in communities throughout Greater Yellowstone. He decided to make Big Sky country home during a season working in Yellowstone National Park and moved to Montana in 2007 after earning his M.A. in Organizational Management from Concordia. Daniel has a proven track record of stewarding community impact that ranges from grassroots efforts to nationally recognized projects. At the heart of these efforts he hopes to leave a lasting impact in preserving the heritage of Montana and it’s communities. If he isn’t fishing one of Montana’s famed blue ribbon streams you can find him in the mountains with friends and family or on the porch pickin’ bluegrass.

Kristin Drain, Finance & Compliance Manager

Kristin is a native of Woodinville, Washington. After working in the San Juan Islands for nearly a decade, she moved to Big Sky in 2010 with her future husband Tim. Kristin started at Moonlight Basin and segued into the banking industry for 6 years. She is passionate about giving back, volunteering her time as a MT Chapter Board Member for the Alzheimer’s Association and with Alliance of Therapy Dogs, alongside her dog Birdie. Kristin enjoys being involved in Big Sky as a CAP Mentor and is excited for the opportunity to serve the Board of Directors and the community as a whole.