>> Close >> Print
Big Sky Resort Tax logo Collections are invested right back into this great place
Home navigation point Community Benefits navigation point Resort Tax Collections Resort Tax Funding FAQ navigation point News navigation point About Us navigation point Governing Documents navigation point Contact Us navigation point

About Us

The Resort Tax is governed by a five member, elected Board of Directors. Board members live within the boundaries of the District and serve a four-year term once elected in a November general election in odd-numbered years. Registered voters who live within the boundaries of the Big Sky Resort Area District may vote in the election. The day-to-day administration of the District is overseen by its single staff member, the Administrative Officer. See below for more information about the current Board of Directors and staff as well as the history of the District.
Board of Directors

Mike Scholz, Chairperson, Elected 2015 Second Term

Since taking over Buck's T4 café from is parents in 1972, Mike Scholz has been inextricably involved in the development of the Big Sky community. Over the past 40 years his resume has grown quite large. He was the first president of the Chamber of Commerce, chair of Big Sky Lodging Association, Montana Tourism Person of the Year in 2007, and has served on various boards such as the Big Sky Fire District, Big Sky Architectural Community, among others.

>> Contact Mike

Kevin Germain, Vice Chairperson Elected 2015 First Term

Kevin has worked in planning and development in Big Sky for more than 12 years, the majority of the time for Moonlight Basin, and most recently for Lone Mountain Land Company. His family became full-time Big Sky residents in 2014 when they moved from Ennis, MT. He has three children that are students in the Big Sky School District. Kevin is an avid outdoorsman who loves skiing, hunting, fly fishing, trail running and mountain biking.

>> Contact Kevin

Ginna Hermann, Secretary, Elected 2013 Second Term

Ginna is originally from Hingham, Massachusetts and has steadily been moving west. She is a graduate of Hiram College in Hiram, Ohio where she met her husband, Gary. Together they raised their three children in Cleveland, Ohio. In 2000 Ginna started coming to Big Sky regularly and in 2005 became a full-time Big Sky resident. She is a professional fund raiser with a career that has focused on major gift and capital campaign work in the area of elder care and health care. She has also taught grant writing and fund raising at the college level. In Big Sky, Ginna is an active volunteer with the Arts Council of Big Sky and the Gallatin Canyon Women's Club.

>> Contact Ginna

Heather Budd, Treasurer, Elected 2013 First Term

Heather has called Big Sky home for the last 16 years. She moved here in 1997 with her future husband and started out as a ski bum. Over the years Heather bartended, waited tables, went back to school (she has a masters degree in accounting from Montana State University), built a house and found a career. She is currently the Controller and CFO for Highline Partners. Being on the Resort Tax Board allows her to give back to the community that she loves and to help make it better for the future.

>> Contact Heather

James Kabisch, Director, Elected 2015 Second Term

James was born and raised in rural Minnesota, and graduated with a degree in Applied Business from the University of Minnesota. James and his family have lived in Big Sky since 2005 where he worked in the banking industry for 7 years and today is the Business Manager for Lone Peak Physical Therapy based in Big Sky, MT.

>> Contact James

Whitney Brunner, Operations Officer

Passionate about the area's character and natural beauty, Whitney enjoys applying her skills toward the Resort Area District. She is a native of Colorado and found her home in Big Sky in 2005. With experience in budget planning, business development and community outreach, Whitney's objective is to serve the Board of Directors and bring prosperity to Big Sky.

>> Contact Whitney

Kristin Drain, Administrative Officer

Kristin is a native of Woodinville, Washington. After working in the San Juan Islands for nearly a decade, she moved to Big Sky in 2010 with her future husband Tim. Kristin started at Moonlight Basin and segued into the banking industry for 6 years. She is passionate about giving back, volunteering her time as a MT Chapter Board Member for the Alzheimer's Association and with Alliance of Therapy Dogs, alongside her dog Birdie. Kristin enjoys being involved in Big Sky as a CAP Mentor, and as a member of Big Sky Young Professionals. She is excited for the opportunity to serve the Board of Directors and the community as a whole.

>> Contact Kristin
Former Board Members Elected
by the community beginning 1998:

Jeff Strickler, 2011-2015

Les Loble, 2005-2013

Al Malinowski, 2004-2011

Lance Child, 2004-2011

Loren Bough, 2007-2011

Renae Schumacher, 2001-2009

Carol Collins, 1998-2007

Jim Muscat, 2001-2005

Walter Ainsworth, 1999-2003

Heidi Peacock, 2001-2003

Bob Stober, 1998-2001

Becky Pape, 1998-2001

Richard Wambsgans, 1998-2001

Michael Richards, 1998-1999

Former Board of Advisors Appointed
by the County Commissions in 1992:

Michael Richards

Carol Collins

Richard Wambsgans

Becky Pape

Taylor Middleton

Dave Traylor

Lindy Adelmann

Bob Biggerstaff

Home Community Benefits Resort Tax Collections Resort Tax Funding FAQ's News About Us Governing Documents Contact Us